No plugins in the Mac App Store version of Sketch?

First of all, congrats on getting Sketch back in the Mac App Store after almost 8 years of absence. As a developer I have mixed feelings about MAS, but most people do in fact prefer it to installing apps the old school way.

Now, what caught my attention is this little bit:

If you have downloaded Sketch from the Mac App Store, you won’t be able to install, enable or use plugins due to security restrictions.

I just wanted to clarify whether the lack of plugin support in the MAS version of the app is a temporary thing, Apple-enforced limitation, or a deliberate decision that we might see implemented in the non-MAS versions of Sketch soon?

I can also see that there’s no sketchtool binary in the app bundle downloaded from MAS. Would love to learn more about this one as well: is it intentional/temporary/etc?

Thank you!

1 Like

Hey! I just discovered that there’s an App Store version. I like getting as many apps as possible from App Store as possible.

I was just about to ask a question about differences between those two versions, but forum recommended me to look here to this thread instead. I’m deciding if I should delete my current Sketch app and get it from the App Store instead, but it seems like it would be worse experience?

So I guess my question is… are there any more differences between those two version, besides plugins not working? And is it worth it to use the App Store version at all, if the downloaded one exists?

Based on the recently updated support articles, some other things are missing from the Mac App Store version in addition to plugins:

• Assistants.

Although they were going to be sunset later this year anyways, so I guess they’re going to disappear from the regular version as well soon.

• The ability to import Figma files.

Although you may still download and use the standalone command-line converter tool for this purpose.