A layer within an Artboard that is visible but is not exportable?

I’m relatively new to Sketch. I’,m particularly interested in its use as a design system manager.

In this case I want to use it to design some icons (in this case, for Material Design 3, but it’s moot). I want to create 4 Artboard templates for my different design sizes, with defaults for backgrounds, export settings, guides, etc. But I can’t have guides for keylines - circles, diagonals, etc. So I create a layer with them on. And then it gets messy. If I want to use the keylines, I have to have the layer visible - and it gets exported. If I have it hidden, it doesn’t - but when designing a design system (sic), this is going to create a lot of problems, fast, with consistency and mistakes. Likewise, I can’t include bevels external to the Artboard - in my case, to show preferred margins around the icons.

What I really need is a repeatable, manageable way to have:-

• Keylines that are not guides (probably not possible)
  • Infinitely thin keylines (ie, always the thinnest possible line at any zoom) which are not printing
  • A Layer that is visible but does not form part of the Artboard’s export
  • A way to have bevels or padding areas be considered “margins” to the Artboard and be excluded from both sizing and exports (I suspect I can do this with slices, but it still means they are visible).
  • A way to show margin and padding ‘bleed areas’.

Can this be done in a way that uses templates and symbols?

Example so far (at 1600% zoom)

Hi @raphcohn,

Thanks for sharing this use case. I think we can get quite close to what you’re looking for with the current Sketch features. I’ll try to break down the use case to individual features and workf from there

1- I want to create 4 Artboard templates for my different design sizes