Help with plugin code structure/files

Hi, there’s a plugin I’ve been using a lot before that has stopped working in Sketch for a few version now. The plugin is Lippy (GitHub - abynim/lippy: An interactive lorem ipsum generator plugin for Sketch) and it’s to generate lorem ipsum text inside textfields in an automated way. I know there are other plugins, but I always found this was was more versatile and faster to use.

My question is, am I right to assume that the lippy binary in lippy.framework/ is probably where the code to fix would be, and the source code for that isn’t on github? And I’m out of luck without the developper’s help?

I’ve modified or ‘repaired’ other plugins before, I’m a designer with a basic comprehension of code and javascript, but it’s limited.

The plugin doesn’t seem to recognize that textfield is selected anymore. I’ve looked at the code, but the 2 javascript files I’ve found seemed more related to the randomisation of the output than the actual working of the plugin.

Thank you!

Hey Jean Francois,

Thanks for sharing this report. I took a look at the Github repo for Lippy and the framework files are compiled binaries. I’m not a developer, but it seems those are macOS executable binary files, so it’ll be expected that you only see the binary and no source for it.

Since you’ve already looked into the two Javascript files (script and markov) another option can be consulting with a macOS developer, they should be more familiar with those framework executable files and if looking into those could help solve the issue.

1 Like

Hey there,

Basically, what Jorge said: the actual source code of this plugin is not available on GitHub, so it’s not possible to simply fork it and make adjustments.

The good news is that, well, I know how to work around this particular limitation :sunglasses: