Ask Me Anything (AMA) with Ramsés Cabello

Hi, everyone! :yellow_heart: My name is Ramsés, and I work as a Product Designer here at Sketch. I recently wrote a blog post for Beyond the Canvas on Three mindsets to level up your design portfolio game. Since Portfolio Day is coming up soon, I thought it’d be a great time to open up the floor to any other questions you may have about design portfolios. So, I’ll be hosting an AMA here on April 11, 2023 5:00 PM (GMT+2)!

A little bit about me:

• :palm_tree: I grew up in the Canary Islands, and I’m living in Denmark at the moment – these days, I’m between Spain, Denmark, and Japan.
  • :handshake: What interest me the most about design is how designers work together with other roles and the human dynamics behind it.
  • :bulb:When I am in need of inspiration for my projects, I go back to things I love, such as video games, Arashi嵐, or walking outside.
  • :gift: I enjoy working on my portfolio and helping others with theirs.

Here are a few pointers on how to participate:

• Please ask a question by replying to this topic one time only, using the Reply button at the bottom of this topic.
  • Before you ask your question, scroll down and take a look at the existing questions to make sure someone hasn’t already asked yours.
  • Please don’t reply to anyone else’s post as we’ll be using this space to answer their questions. If you’d like to discuss anything in more detail, you can always create a new topic in a relevant category elsewhere.

Excited to chat :yellow_heart:

6 Likes

To be honest, I don’t know what to ask, but I’m willing to read all the thread.
Thanks a lot for doing this.

5 Likes

Thanks for doing this Ramsés!
How much do portfolios matter when you’re 4-5 years into the job? I’ve come across instances where designers just present from Figma and call it a day. When you’re at a Senior-level do portfolios even matter?

4 Likes

Hey Ramsés, thank you so much for taking the initiative.